This is the "Home" page of the "Art History Basics " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History Basics  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jalc.edu/content.php?pid=564112 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Off Campus Access

Off Campus database access is available for currently registered students, faculty and staff of John A. Logan College.

Username:  The username will be your Volmail email for students and your JALC email for faculty and staff.

Password: Your password will be the same one you use for your email.

Click Here to Login

      

    Google Scholar Search

    Writing and Citation Assistance

    The John A. Logan College Writing Center helps students acquire and develop skills which will allow them to succeed as college-level writers. Located in Room C 215, the Writing Center offers tutoring services to all John A. Logan students free of charge. Students do not need to schedule appointments; all sessions are held on a walk-in basis.

    Additional Helpful Links

    Research and Documentation Online

    The Purdue University Writing Lab (OWL)

    Son of Citation Machine

    EasyBib Bibliography and Citation Maker

        
       

      Available at the JALC Library

      Finding books and media at John A. Logan College

      The Library Catalog will provide you with a list of our holdings and the entire Illinois Heartland Library System collection. Some of the titles we own include:

      Cover Art
      30,000 Years of Art - Phaidon Press Editors (Editor)
      Call Number: N5300.A14 2007
      ISBN: 9780714847894
      Publication Date: 2007-10-22

      Cover Art
      A People's Art History of the United States - Nicolas Lampert
      Call Number: N72.P6.L37 2013
      ISBN: 9781595583246
      Publication Date: 2013-11-05

      Cover Art
      Art - Elke Linda Buchholz; Karoline Hille; Susanne Kaeppele; Irina Stotland; Gerhard Buhler
      Call Number: N5300.A674 2007
      ISBN: 9780810994423
      Publication Date: 2007-11-01

      Cover Art
      Art History - Marilyn Stokstad; David Cateforis; Stephen Addiss
      Call Number: N5300.S923 2001
      ISBN: 9780130918680
      Publication Date: 2001-08-01

      Cover Art
      Art of the 20th Century - Ingo F. Walter (Editor); Karl Ruhrberg
      Call Number: N6490.A784 2012
      ISBN: 3822885762
      Publication Date: 1998-07-01

      Cover Art
      Atlas of World Art - John Onians
      Call Number: Reference N5300.A85 2004b
      ISBN: 1856693775
      Publication Date: 2004-01-01

      Cover Art
      Civic Art - Thomas E. Luebke
      Call Number: NA712.C36 2013
      ISBN: 9780160897023
      Publication Date: 2013-01-01

      Cover Art
      Discovering the Great Masters - Rebecca Tucker (Contribution by); Alexandra Bonfante-Warren (Contribution by); Paul Crenshaw
      Call Number: ND1145.C74 2009
      ISBN: 9780789318916
      Publication Date: 2009-09-08

      Cover Art
      The Art of Art History - Donald Preziosi
      Call Number: N7480.A79 2009
      ISBN: 9780199229840
      Publication Date: 2009-04-15

      Cover Art
      What Art Is - Arthur C. Danto
      Call Number: N66.D26 2013
      ISBN: 9780300174878
      Publication Date: 2013-03-19

      Digital Books

      Students, Faculty and Staff have access to thousands of digital books through the Find Books and Media page on the John A. Logan College Library site. Titles covering a wide range of academic topics can be read online or downloaded to an e-reader. Patrons must login in order to access the digital books off campus.

      Digital Book Collections

      Credo Reference   

      A collection of Reference books including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject specific works. Credo Reference offers more than 600 highly regarded titles from over 80 publishers.

      Ebook Collection (EBSCO)

      With thousands of titles available across all major subject areas, users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer, or can download titles to most popular portable devices.

      Sage Knowledge

      A social sciences digital library with more than 2,500 titles. It includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Make sure to click "Available to Me" under the "Refine by Availability" area after you have done your search. It will be located on the right side of the results page.

      Springer Link

      A database with access to millions of medical and scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. To access the items that are available full text, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only Content" box after you do your search. It will be located on the upper left hand side of the results page.

       

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip