This is the "Home" page of the "Children's Literature " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jalc.edu/content.php?pid=557999 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Off Campus Access

Off Campus database access is available for currently registered students, faculty and staff of John A. Logan College.

Username:  The username will be your Volmail email for students and your JALC email for faculty and staff.

Password: Your password will be the same one you use for your email.

Click Here to Login

      

    Google Scholar Search

    Writing and Citation Assistance

    The John A. Logan College Writing Center helps students acquire and develop skills which will allow them to succeed as college-level writers. Located in Room C 215, the Writing Center offers tutoring services to all John A. Logan students free of charge. Students do not need to schedule appointments; all sessions are held on a walk-in basis.

    Additional Helpful Links

    Research and Documentation Online

    The Purdue University Writing Lab (OWL)

    Son of Citation Machine

    EasyBib Bibliography and Citation Maker

        
       

      Available at the JALC Library

      Finding books and media at John A. Logan College

      The Library Catalog will provide you with a list of our holdings and the entire Illinois Heartland Library System collection. Some of the titles we own include:

      Cover Art
      A to Zoo - Carolyn W. Lima; Rebecca L. Thomas
      Call Number: REF.Z1037.L715 2010 Non Circulating
      ISBN: 9781598844061
      Publication Date: 2010-06-01

      Cover Art
      Best Books for Children - John T. Gillespie; Catherine Barr
      Call Number: Z1037.G48 2010
      ISBN: 9781591585756
      Publication Date: 2010-01-01

      Cover Art
      Book Crush - Nancy Pearl
      Call Number: Z1037.P35 2007
      ISBN: 9781570615009
      Publication Date: 2007-03-06

      Cover Art
      Bridges to Understanding - Linda Pavonetti
      Call Number: PN1009.A1.B766 2011
      ISBN: 0810881063
      Publication Date: 2011-08-18

      Cover Art
      Children's Literature - Seth Lerer
      Call Number: PN1009.A1L44 2008
      ISBN: 9780226473000
      Publication Date: 2008-06-15

      Cover Art
      Children's Literature, Briefly - Michael O. Tunnell; James S. Jacobs
      Call Number: PN1008.8.J33 2008
      ISBN: 9780131734906
      Publication Date: 2007-04-17

      Cover Art
      Children's Picturebooks - Martin Salisbury; Morag Styles
      Call Number: PN1009.A1.S255 2012
      ISBN: 9781856697385
      Publication Date: 2012-02-08

      Cover Art
      Feeling Like a Kid - Jerry Griswold
      Call Number: PN1009.A1G75 2006
      ISBN: 9780801885174
      Publication Date: 2006-11-17

      Cover Art
      From Cover to Cover - Kathleen T. Horning
      Call Number: PN98.B7.H67 2010
      ISBN: 9780060777562
      Publication Date: 2010-04-27

      Cover Art
      Minders of Make-Believe - Leonard S. Marcus
      ISBN: 9780395674079
      Publication Date: 2008-05-07

      Cover Art
      Stories Matter - Dana L. Fox (Editor); Kathy Gnagey Short (Editor)
      Call Number: PS490.S74 2003
      ISBN: 0814147445
      Publication Date: 2003-10-01

      Cover Art
      What's Black and White and Reid All Over? - Rob Reid
      Call Number: Z718.3.R465 2012
      ISBN: 9780838911471
      Publication Date: 2012-01-01

      Digital Books

      Students, Faculty and Staff have access to thousands of digital books through the Find Books and Media page on the John A. Logan College Library site. Titles covering a wide range of academic topics can be read online or downloaded to an e-reader. Patrons must login in order to access the digital books off campus.

      Digital Book Collections

      Credo Reference   

      A collection of Reference books including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject specific works. Credo Reference offers more than 600 highly regarded titles from over 80 publishers.

      Ebook Collection (EBSCO)

      With thousands of titles available across all major subject areas, users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer, or can download titles to most popular portable devices.

      Sage Knowledge

      A social sciences digital library with more than 2,500 titles. It includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Make sure to click "Available to Me" under the "Refine by Availability" area after you have done your search. It will be located on the right side of the results page.

      Springer Link

      A database with access to millions of medical and scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. To access the items that are available full text, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only Content" box after you do your search. It will be located on the upper left hand side of the results page.

       

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip