This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jalc.edu/content.php?pid=523488 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Off Campus Access

Off Campus database access is available for currently registered students, faculty and staff of John A. Logan College.

Username:  The username will be your Volmail email for students and your JALC email for faculty and staff.

Password: Your password will be the same one you use for your email.

Click Here to Login

      

    Writing and Citation Assistance

    The John A. Logan College Writing Center helps students acquire and develop skills which will allow them to succeed as college-level writers. Located in Room C 215, the Writing Center offers tutoring services to all John A. Logan students free of charge. Students do not need to schedule appointments; all sessions are held on a walk-in basis.

    Additional Helpful Links

    Research and Documentation Online

    The Purdue University Writing Lab (OWL)

    Son of Citation Machine

    EasyBib Bibliography and Citation Maker

        
       

      Recent Books Available at the JALC Library

      Finding books and media at John A. Logan College

      The Library Catalog will provide you with a list of our holdings and the entire Illinois Heartland Library System collection. Some of the titles we own include:

      Cover Art
      A History of Modern American Criminal Justice - Joseph F. Spillane; David B. Wolcott
      Call Number: HV9950.S667 2013
      ISBN: 9781412981330
      Publication Date: 2012-11-14

      Cover Art
      A Plague of Prisons - Ernest Drucker
      Call Number: HV8705.D78 2011
      ISBN: 9781595584977
      Publication Date: 2011-08-30

      Cover Art
      American Police - A History, 1945-2012 - Thomas A. Reppetto
      Call Number: HV8138.R462 2012
      ISBN: 9781936274437
      Publication Date: 2012-10-23

      Cover Art
      Clashing Views in Criminal Justice - Thomas J. Hickey
      Call Number: HV9950.T35 2007
      ISBN: 9780072828177
      Publication Date: 2005-12-14

      Cover Art
      Community Policing - Veerendra Mishra
      Call Number: HV7936.C83.M64 2011
      ISBN: 9788132107279
      Publication Date: 2011-11-03

      Cover Art
      Crime and Punishment in America - Elliott Currie
      Call Number: HV9471.C87 2013
      ISBN: 9781250024213
      Publication Date: 2013-03-26

      Cover Art
      Criminal Law - Paul Bergman; Nolo Press Editors
      Call Number: KF9217.B47 2012
      ISBN: 9781413313673
      Publication Date: 2012-01-03

      Cover Art
      From Juvenile Delinquency to Adult Crime - Rolf Loeber (Editor); David P. Farrington (Editor)
      Call Number: HV9069.F76 2012
      ISBN: 9780199828166
      Publication Date: 2012-06-07

      Cover Art
      Gangs in America's Communities - James (Buddy) C. Howell
      Call Number: HV6439.U5.H679 2012
      ISBN: 9781412979535
      Publication Date: 2011-11-09

      Cover Art
      Genetic Justice - Sheldon Krimsky; Tania Simoncelli
      Call Number: HV8073.K668 2011
      ISBN: 9780231145206
      Publication Date: 2010-11-22

      Cover Art
      Introducing Forensic and Criminal Investigation - Adam G. Hart; Jane Monckton-Smith; Julia Newberry; Tony Adams
      Call Number: HV8073.I5677 2013
      ISBN: 9780857027528
      Publication Date: 2013-04-05

      Cover Art
      Invisible Men - Pettit
      Call Number: HV9469.P46 2012
      ISBN: 9780871546678
      Publication Date: 2012-07-01

      Cover Art
      Kids, Cops, and Confessions - Barry C. Feld
      Call Number: HV9104.F443 2012
      ISBN: 9780814727775
      Publication Date: 2012-11-26

      Cover Art
      Policing - Carol A. Archbold
      Call Number: HV8142.A73 2013
      ISBN: 9781412993692
      Publication Date: 2012-10-17

      Cover Art
      Popular Crime - Bill James
      Call Number: HV6779.J36 2011
      ISBN: 9781416552734
      Publication Date: 2011-05-03

      Cover Art
      The Anatomy of Violence - Adrian Raine
      Call Number: RC569.5.V55.R35 2013
      ISBN: 9780307378842
      Publication Date: 2013-04-30

      Cover Art
      The Collapse of American Criminal Justice - William J. Stuntz
      Call Number: HV7432.S78 2011
      ISBN: 9780674051751
      Publication Date: 2011-09-30

      Digital Books

      Students, Faculty and Staff have access to thousands of digital books through the Find Books and Media page on the John A. Logan College Library site. Titles covering a wide range of academic topics can be read online or downloaded to an e-reader. Patrons must login in order to access the digital books off campus.

      Digital Book Collections

      Credo Reference   

      A collection of Reference books including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject specific works. Credo Reference offers more than 600 highly regarded titles from over 80 publishers.

      Ebook Collection (EBSCO)

      With thousands of titles available across all major subject areas, users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer, or can download titles to most popular portable devices.

      Sage Knowledge

      A social sciences digital library with more than 2,500 titles. It includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Make sure to click "Available to Me" under the "Refine by Availability" area after you have done your search. It will be located on the right side of the results page.

      Springer Link

      A database with access to millions of medical and scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. To access the items that are available full text, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only Content" box after you do your search. It will be located on the upper left hand side of the results page.

       

          

        Google Scholar Search



        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip